Is ‘Public Occultism’ Fading Out?

Because the subject is very much on the go so to speak I thought I’d share this blog from Aaron Leitch.

I’m not really sure if I have much else to add to it. In Ireland the occult, generally speaking, has two primary facade’s from what I can see. The first is that of the Neopagan or Wiccan who over a sympathetic Pub Moot will nod to the more CM work that they may operate on parallel lines to Paganism or Wicca. Of course their Paganism or Wicca is not for the fluffy-bunny types either but the moniker often shields them in conversations with the New-Agers in pagan social circles. The second type is the type that will not really be caught out too handy. Their occultism is not for the masses and as genuine practitioners of magic they rarely take on students.

I’ve hidden among college going students for a while now. Even attempted to set up a college pagan society (we had no takers) but I found that most modern witches don’t really wish to explore the occult or magic they simply wish to practice it. When it becomes clear that practice means PRACTICE things waver and teeter off. I’ve come off even crazier amongst these lot of people than I do amongst “Muggles”! It is frustrating and tiring being alone in a crowd. In fact if I am honest trying to make the crowd work out has cost me my own magical practice.

As such I am a fan of retiring from the limelight and paying more attention to the Art of Magic.

Ananael (The Secrets of Wisdom)

And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams:. – Acts 2:17

Nick Farrell has done it again.  Love him or hate him, you have to admit he knows how to stir things up from time to time.  😉  This time, it was with a blog post declaring the death of “public occultism.”  If I were to summarize his position, I would say he feels occult students have become millennial wannabes who believe magickal knowledge should simply be on tap.  You just turn on your computer, press a few buttons, and one of the various modern occult leaders will simply deliver their wisdom to your front door in a nice box with a smile…

View original post 1,792 more words

Leave a Reply

