Sharing – a rant

Okay, Peregrin is a little on the harsh side here but I do see where he is coming from. For those that read my wee ramble on “Why join anything?” I referred to a few different schools and teaching styles. I know that many solo practitioners enjoy “working things out for themselves” the thing is even if you have access to a teacher or elders within a tradition you still have to think for yourself. So a person really needs to consider their audience when producing information for mass consumption online.

One of the main reasons I have shied away from diagrams here is that I don’t feel comfortable with all that I need to learn. I have some ideas that I’m happy to share publicly because I’m happy to hear alternatives and suggestions to correct misinformation. I’ve learned FAR more from my years hosting this blog and it’s predecessors than I have taught anyone.

In the previous post on joining a group I was writing in partial response to some off-hand comments from non-affliated friends. Now by virtue of them being my friends they are not misappropriating materials and remediating them online with misinformation as if they full know and comprehend materials. Most of these friends are animistic in a very non-descript way. Honestly, they just resonate with energy and rarely overthink matters. They have no need to look for hidden meaning.

Peregrin does identify some issues with online posters. Many are seeking to learn but seem at times fearful to even antagonistic toward learning within a system or a structure. Believe me I too feared I would loose my sense of self and be simply another generic Wiccan or a generic Golden Dawner (MOAA) by the end but in a well structured approach this sense of self doesn’t need to be completely eradicated.

Magic of the Ordinary

This is kinda a follow up to the last post. And then I’m done, as these problems seem to be more and more prevalent in the magical-Pagan communities since the internet. I’ll have said my piece and will move on to bunny pics or good news stories 🙂

First off, it should go without saying that I view the people mentioned (but not identified) in this post as images of the One, whole and divine and that I do not – cannot – judge their spiritual life. I am simply responding to what they say and do.

The other day I noticed on Facebook a rather new beginner to all things magical produce a nice little chart of the Kircher Qabalistic Tree of Life, complete the 22 paths, superimposed over the human body for meditation reference. Very nice and kind of him to make and share this publically. However, there…

View original post 539 more words

2 Replies to “Sharing – a rant”

  1. Thank for engaging with this, Abhainn 🙂

    Yes, a bit harsh, though the delivery I hope does not detract from the message. Just a couple of points.

    ‘Working things out for ourselves’ is essential. Agree, of course. However, sharing the results of this exploration should – at least in the GD – be reserved for the inner order. As of course the practice of magic itself should be. As I’ve said on my blog before:

    Do we want your opinion? – no.
    Do we want your informed opinion – yes.
    Do we want your inspired opinion – maybe. Well, probably not.

    Of course a few pixels translating into words may mean I am missing something, but I find your statement “Believe me I too feared I would loose my sense of self and be simply another generic Wiccan or a generic Golden Dawner” extraordinary.

    Whatever can that mean? A sense of self is informed and developed by our full life – our environment, our friends, work, study, partners, loves, social interaction, media consumption – so, so much. I am confused how that sense could ever be’ threatened’ – i.e., able to be ‘lost’, by participation in Wicca or the GD.

    What am I missing, Abhainn? : ) Ta

    Personally, I have no problem being a generic anything 🙂 – and heads up , I may quote you on this in a future blog . Lovely turn of phrase 🙂 Thanks.

    1. Hi Peregrin,

      Prior to initiation into MOAA and more recently into Wicca an underlying fear I personally held was that I would adopt views that were alien to me and fundamentally different to my own. Baring in mind that the occult can often be confused with being a cult and so this was a fear of mine. It is not so much a case of being threatened by Wicca or the G.D. as having my Irish Catholic views completely overhauled.

      Over time, as a solo practitioner, I learned the terms of Wicca and Paganism and then the wider Occult community I learned that my personal upbringing as an Irish Catholic and my family and friends was a strength in my new praxis. I basically learned that religions themselves are not antagonistic toward one another but people can be trained to me.

      As for being a “generic” anything you also need to place this feeling into context too. I wasn’t initiated at the time and I was half-in-the-door and half out of it too. I have commented before that I have seen initiates of a few traditions – including both Wicca and the Golden Dawn – develop ‘in-house” jokes but at the cost of non-initiates on forums and social media. This, if I’m honest, develops an elitist perspective and I NEVER wanted to be elitist – we’re not better than others because we have a perennial philosophy on the world and the universe.

      Of course as I grew more comfortable around long term pagans and magicians and certainly post-initiation I have found that ‘generic’ is something of a red herring in such matters. A lot of people in both Wicca and the Golden Dawn are very diverse and don’t get stuck in one particular mould.

      I hope this clarifies things. I was really trying to revisit some [false] ideas I had prior to stepping out into the more public sphere on paganism and Wicca.

      Of course I always enjoy your posts – harsh or not! So please do blog!

      Níall (Mr. Abhainn)

Leave a Reply

