Oath Bound Secrets: The Horned One

Oath Bound Secrets: The Horned One: Wicca focuses on the worship of a horned god, as well as a goddess who wears the horns of the moon, but what is the symbolic significance…

Annika, over on Oathbound Secrets has been at it again! This time she has done so more comprehensively than I could ever do so I won’t be blogging on the contextual information she obliges us with. What I will do is share a specific quote from her post:

To make this hand gesture is referred to as putting horns on someone. In Croatian and Serbian, the word “rogonja” meaning “horned one” and the phrase “nabiti rogove” meaning “to put horns on somebody” is used. In Czech and Slovak languages, the word “paroháč” meaning “antlered one” is used, along with the phrase “nasadit parohy” meaning “to put antlers on somebody”. In Estonian the phrase is “sarvi tegema” meaning “to make antlers to somebody”. In Greek, the term is “κερατάς” meaning “horned one”. In Hungarian, the term is “felszarvazni”, meaning “to put horns (on somebody)”. In Polish, the word “rogacz” meaning “horned one” is used, along with the phrase “przyprawiać rogi” meaning “to put horns on somebody”. In Portuguese, the terms “corno” and “cornudo” are used to spite or mock the cheated male partner. In Romanian, “încornorat” means “wearing horns”. In Russian, the word used is “rogonosets”, literally “one who carries horns”, and the act of being unfaithful is termed “nastavit’ roga”, meaning “to attach horns”. In Spain, one who cheats on their partner is said to “put the horns on” or “poner los cuernos”, and the person who has been cheated on is described as “cornudo”. 

I had to chuckle when I read this piece considering the story of my maternal great-grandfather which I feel sums up my mother’s family quite succinctly and clearly really. The story goes that the local parish priest was looking for a plot of land to build his new residence. He’d been looking for a long while; with many people from the parish stepping forward to offer their land – some for free of charge. None of which would do for the priest because he had his eye on my great-grandfather’s land which was right beside the church.
 
When the priest spoke to my great-grandfather, my great-grandfather was quite amicable to selling the plot of land to the priest. “But this is for the Church?” stammered the flabbergasted priest, “everyone else is throwing plots of land at me for free!” 
“Well, then take one of theirs then!” says my great-grandfather.
“Look, if you don’t give me that land I’ll put horns on ya!” demanded the priest.
“Fine, give me horns and I’ll turn around and puck you with them!” came the response.
 
Needless to say such a threat of a curse from the local priest carried much sway back in the day and in some people’s minds still does. So my great-grandfather’s wittiness showed a level of independence and willfulness which my grandmother and mother most certainly have inherited. Considering my recent encounter with the Horned One in a drumming working and the post from Annika I wanted to share this story with you all.
Leave a Reply

