Review of Witchvox article by Belladona Laveau HP

While parousing my usual online haunts I was directed to a link entitled: “Why is There a Rule Against Training People Under 18?” by Belladona Laveau HP. I must confess some issues with this article. While I do understand the author’s motivations for refusing underage applicants I have so say I was more than a little dismayed to read and hear a certain patronising tone in use.
Personally, I feel that in constructing such articles (or indeed posts for which I think everyone inevitably end up responding to on various fora and yahoo groups) it would be more prudent to give positive and constructive advice in developing the skills necessary in seeking Coven or group initiation.
A friend of mine of mine, in the course of a rather heated debate over this article pointed out to me that while not all countries or schools offer modules or classes in the necessary areas for Wicca, so in place of simply stating “be good in school” or “study well” I propose that suggestions be made that are productive.
In the afore mentioned article Laveau says:

Students with bad grades inevitably lack the required skill set needed to perform in a college level setting. Since they’ve not developed the disciplinerequired to learn basic educational concepts, they have a difficult timegrasping the more complex concepts that are required to train your brain to movefrom a linear thinking pattern to a spiral-thinking pattern. Basically, schools are doing FAR MORE to establish the roots of magical training than most people realize!

I cannot speak for all but this on the surface strikes me as very patronising. I know that it has been in later life that I have come to that “Aha!” moment, where I was able to finally understand something. In the same paragraph Laveau had explained how she looks at the report cards of new students coming into the seminary who are under the age of 30. Frankly I am alarmed that she cannot remain on topic. So far her article has jumped from paganism, to Coven work to the seminary and she has the gaul to critique people who’s report cards don’t meet her standards? In my own opinion her involvement in the school and college work of students strikes me as very unprofessional.I’m sorry but should I be impressed with someone that bases a teenager’s life experiences on ‘Sabrina: The Teenage Witch’? Don’t get me wrong I love some escapism and flights of fancy as the next person but if my teenage experiences had been even one-tenth of fun as Sabrina’s I’d have been delighted.
Shakespeare (a magical name, btw) was a Priest of the craft who took ritual
performance to a new level. That crazy language he wrote in is the language
ofthe Fey. It’s fairy speak. It’s hard to understand at first, but it’s very
helpful in making magic. These are things they don’t tell you in school.
OMG! As a student of literature, oh my God…I’m sorry thats all I can muster! First, if this person could please practice what she preaches from her self created pulpit, I would dearly like to see a citation reference for this article. Shakespeare was a Priest of the Craft? Really? While many Craft people have speculated on Shakespeare’s initimate knowledge of Craft-terminology for herbs and references to Greco-Roman gods in the form of Hecate, I do not know anyone that can verify that William Shakespeare was ever initiated into any form of witchcraft.
Furthermore, where does she see “fairy speak” in Shakespeare? I pressume she means ‘A Midsummer’s Night’s Dream’. Here I must confess my ignorance I’ve looked over this play in a cursory manner so can’t disprove it only express my skepticism.Please understand I am not blogging merely to blast or otherwise insult Lady Belladona Laveau, as simply put I wholeheartily agree with the majority of her points of view in relation to Initiatory Wicca, particularly within British Traditional Wicca. I do feel that articles such as these do need to clearly and succinctly address the target audience. They also need to be clear in making statements and use quotation and adequate referencing when using statistics.
Leave a Reply

